Locks of Love

For those of you unfamiliar with the organization, Locks of Love gathers hair to create wigs (really prosthetics) for children under age 21 who have lost their hair due to cancer, burn trauma, disease, or other causes. The hair prosthetics they make are created with real human hair, customized for the individual, and so tightly fitted that the child can live a normal life of running around, swimming, etc.

I’ve had several friends grow out their hair to donate to this charity, and I’ve always wanted to do it. Over the years, though, I never seemed able to grow mine out enough to cut off the requisite ten-inch minimum. Well, I finally set my mind to it these past few years, and I’ve succeeded in growing enough to donate at least a foot of hair.

My appointment is scheduled for this Friday. Here’s hoping that I don’t wind up a teary mess like so many women I see on T.V. getting their long hair cut off. I didn’t think I’d be emotional about this, but now that I’m finally taking that plunge, I have to admit I’m feeling a little weird about it. Thinking back, I’m pretty sure I’ve gone about six years with nothing but a trim. In that time, I’ve gotten a bit attached (ha-ha) to my long hair, so it’s going to feel strange to lop it off. There couldn’t be a better cause for it, though, so I’m also feeling good. After all, as a romance writer, how could I not want to support an organization that promotes love, giving, and a little more positive energy in the world?

Stay tuned. I’ll let you know how it goes.

If you’re interested in learning more about Locks for Love, I found their website at http://www.locksoflove.org/

 

Leave a Reply

