Wigging Out (donation to Wigs for Kids)

All right, I announced that I was going to donate my hair to Locks of Love. When I got to the hairdresser this morning, however, she encouraged me to donate to Wigs for Kids instead. Both organizations provide wigs (hair prosthetics) to minors who have lost their hair due to cancer, burns, or other medical issues. According to the hairdresser, she prefers Wigs for Kids because they give the wigs to the children for free, whereas Locks for Love often sells the wigs. I haven’t looked into any of this and am in no way promoting one of the charities over the other. My feeling is that you should do what makes you feel comfortable. For anyone interested in checking out Wigs for Kids, you can visit http://www.wigsforkids.org/content/history. Since Wigs for Kids was the preferred charity of this particular salon, I went with them.

It’s a strange thing to grow out your hair for years and then have a foot of it lopped off in one fell swoop. Despite the shock to the system, though, it was so much fun. Everyone at the salon was thrilled that I was donating, and the atmosphere was one of good will and cheer. I’m thrilled with my new cut, and it feels a bit like shedding my winter coat for my light summer clothes.

If you want to see the process of donation (this is before the actual cut to clean up my do), I’ve included the photos of my hair here. I highly encourage every woman to try this at least once in their life, especially if you’re thinking of switching to a short style anyway.

6 responses to “Wigging Out (donation to Wigs for Kids)

  1. It was a great thing allie did today donating her beautiful hair to wigs for kids She looked fantastic with her new do. Thanks Allie

  2. Mary, thanks so much. You have no idea how much I appreciate it. It made me feel great to support a good cause.

  3. What a great thing to have done. I love the picture of the cut off pigtail. Bet your head feels lighter and cooler.

  4. Thanks, Ruth. Yeah, my head does feel lighter, and I’m having to adjust my hair-brushing technique. I keep hitting empty air where there used to be more tresses.

  5. Congratulations on donating your hair. What a wonderful and generous thing to do. Enjoy your new short, summer “do” !!!

  6. Thanks, Theresa. I’m so glad I went through with it.

Leave a Reply

