What will the next sci-fi show be?

Okay, I’m coming clean here and warning everybody out there that I’m a Trekkie.
 
First, Star Trek: The Next Generation stopped making new episodes. Then there was Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Voyager, and Enterprise, which I think we can all agree was a terrible mistake. The X-Files were abducted somewhere, and the movies were a poor substitute for the show. Farscape disappeared, Stargate SG1 got almost completely re-casted, and then they took Sargate Atlantis from us, although we’re supposed to get a movie out of it. I’m sorry, but I was too bummed out over Stargate Atlantis to get into Stargate Universe, and I never had the patience for Battlestar Galactica. There were some other sci-fi series that cropped up in there, but none of them really took off.
 
So here’s my question to you: what do you think the next hit sci-fi series is going to be? Will there be another successful Star Trek? Will the media gods resurrect one of the oldies? I’m interested to see what they’ll do because, despite my love of the paranormal genre, I’d like to see some space ships as well as vampires soon.
 

2 responses to “What will the next sci-fi show be?

  1. What about Babylon 5? I’m a huge sci-fi fan (never really got into Star Trek, though I am quite familiar with the various series) and Babylon 5 is by far my favorite sci-fi series ever. In my opinion B5 really paved the way for shows like LOST and other science fiction dramas which had great depth of continuity and were following a specific developing storyline. Though I must say I was disappointed with the end of LOST (let’s not get into that now) I was never let down by the outcome of B5 even it’s fifth and final season which was a far slower paced production than the previous ones. Though the spin-off of Babylon 5 never really took off, I still feel some longing to return to the B5 universe and would love to see J. Michael Straczynski return to the small screen with a new B5 series. Barring that I would even be open to him coming up with a new show for us to fawn over, he’s a good writer and I’m sure there are some other ideas floating around inside that head of his.

  2. Oh, good one, Joshua. I totally forgot about Babylon 5.
    I keep hoping to see a trailer on the Syfy channel that will really grab me. Back when Farscape was fresh, I got to be as addicted as your stereotypical housewife with her soaps. I just had to see what the writers came up with next. If I can find a show that does that for me again, I’ll be thrilled.

Leave a Reply

