Terrifically Prolific or Prolifically Terrific?

As a writer who is still trying to build her backlist, I know how hard it is to publish a book, to see it through from inception to release day and beyond. That’s why I have an enormous amount of respect for today’s most prolific romance writers. The sheer volume of their work is amazing.

Nora Roberts is the first one that comes to my mind. She has written over two hundred works under the pen names Nora Roberts, J.D. Robb, and others. Personally, I’ve read fifty of her works and counting.

Another, whom I’ve certainly mentioned before, is Jayne Ann Krentz, aka Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Castle. This woman is a literary genius as far as I’m concerned since she writes historical, contemporary, and futuristic romance. That’s just mind-boggling. She’s another author who has written well over a hundred books, and I can’t get enough of them. When I looked up the titles, I wasn’t surprised to learn I’d read a staggering 98 of her works.

If we look strictly at erotic romance, Desiree Holt takes the lead with a hundred plus. I can’t imagine the hard work, dedication, and undying passion it takes to write over a hundred books, but I hope someday to find out what it feels like.

So who is your favorite prolific romance writer?

Leave a Reply

