Favorite Sci-Fi by Loose Id Authors

Like most writers, I’m an avid reader, with a TBR list a mile long. In case it isn’t obvious, one of my favorite genres is sci-fi romance. I could write a novel-length blog article talking about all the different authors I love in this genre. However, I thought I would limit this post to a handful of writers whom I know from my days at Loose Id—a great publisher I was sad to see close. You can find my article from a few years ago, “Loose Id Books: Where Are They Now?”, if you want to learn more. I apologize to the great writers I’m leaving out here, as there are certainly others I adore. If you’re looking for some hot sci-fi romance, though, you can’t go wrong with the following authors.

Cynthia Sax has hosted me on her blog, including an interview with me back when I released Vampire Territory 1: Drinking Partners. I must have read a good dozen of Cynthia’s books, all of which are hot and fun. I’ve followed her Cyborg Sizzle series from book one, Releasing Rage, and keep coming back for more. Green, Zip, Barrel, Surge, Chuckles, Stealth—there are so many cyborgs to love in her books. She has a way of making even the most battle-hardened warrior seem endearing.


Lyn Gala is a fantastic sci-fi writer. The cultures and perspective she creates in her Claimings series are positively brilliant. I’ve read all the books in the series more than once, which is not something I tend to do. The series starts with Claimings, Tails, and Other Alien Artifacts, though there’s also a Prelude to the book that offers a different POV and is well worth reading. Several sequels follow, including another book set in the same universe that finally explains one of the more disturbing alien races. As if the Claimings series wasn’t enough to win me over, Lyn appealed to the Firefly/Serenity fan in me when she wrote a story in Love Has No Boundaries Volume 5 inspired by the character of Jayne Cobb. It was titled “The Only Way Out Is In” and later became a separately published work titled Turbulence. Her stories suck you in and don’t want to let go.


I never appreciated how well a tagline could sell a book until Jessica Freely hooked me with the tagline for His Own Devices: “No penis, no problem.” How could I possibly resist following up on what that was about? Intrigued, I bought the book, a m/m sci-fi romance that I still have in my Kindle’s Keeper folder to this day. Amarynth and Ash is likewise a keeper, along with her fantasy romance Dharma Café and at least three more of her books.


Cara Bristol has been gracious in hosting me on her blog more than once. I love her Alien Mate series, with human women traveling to another planet to find husbands. I think Alien Intention might stand out as my favorite, though I like all the books in this series. They’re just a lot of fun to read. The alien men then come to Earth to find women in the Dakonian Alien Mail Order Bride series. Of course, I’ve also enjoyed Cara’s cyborgs and other characters, and if you want a much edgier romance, you can check out Breeder, the first book in the series by the same name.


Anyone who follows Gail Koger knows about her Coletti Warlord series. Talk about seriously alpha heroes. I’ve somehow managed to read the series completely out of order (something I seem to do more often than I’d like to admit), but that hasn’t diminished my enjoyment in the least. Most recently, I read Vexing Voss, which has an awesome kick-ass heroine.

.



If you’re a sci-fi romance fan and haven’t given these authors a try, you definitely should. And if you feel like picking up a copy of my hot SFR book Carnal Fusion, I certainly recommend that too :).

3 responses to “Favorite Sci-Fi by Loose Id Authors

  1. Hey Allie!
    Thanks for the mention. It’s so nice to reconnect. Loose Id was a great publisher. Even though I went Indie, I was sad to see it close.

  2. Pingback: Taste of Cyn – Cyborg Sizzle Featured On Allie Ritch’s Site

  3. Nice post! I was a Loose Id SF author also. I left before they closed and went indie. I adored my editor there. Great company!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.